What does i. a. mean?

I-A is the postal abbreviation for Iowa. It can also stand for Internal Affairs, Indian Airlines, Iraqi Airways, Industrial Automation, Individual Assistance, Impact Analysis, Immediate Action, In Absentia, Internal Assessment, or any of several dozen other things.