Why are people cutting down the rainforest?

We are cutting down rainforests for many reasons, including, wood for both timber and making fires; agriculture; land for poor farmers who don’t have anywhere else to live; grazing land for cattle; pulp for making paper; road construction; and extraction of minerals and energy.