What's the difference between a division one school and a division two school?

The NCAA, the governing body for intercollegiate sports, separates member institutions by divisions. Division 2 colleges are generally smaller and have fewer athletic department resources than Division 1 schools, but Division 2 colleges are larger and more well-funded than Division 3 institutions.