What happened in seventeen thirty seven?

Here are some historical events from 1737. Austria entered the Russo-Turkish war. The oldest, still existing English language newspaper in the world, The News Letter, was founded in Belfast, Ireland. A tropical cyclone strikes Bengal, India, killing approximately 300,000.