What does iphone stand for?

Apple brands many products with a leading letter i since 1998. Steve Jobs said, "The 'i' stands for internet, individual, instruct, inform, inspire". Therefore, the iPhone is Apple's mobile phone claiming those properties.

---

iPhone is not an abbreviation, but a reference to the Apple proprietary operating system, or IOS, that is used to operate the iPhone.