Why do cows lay down when it rains?

Some weather folklore is much more accurate than others. Unfortunately, cows lying down before a rain doesn’t seem to be the most accurate weather predictor. Cows lying down in a field more often means they’re chewing their cud, rather than preparing for raindrops