When is minecraft gonna shut down?

Mojang has announced on their Twitter that Minecraft will shut down their servers on December 21st, 2020.

---

This story started on prank website Channel45News and got picked up by a few legitimate news outlets. On January 2 Microsoft' tweeted: "Hey folks, I can confirm that Minecraft servers are NOT shutting down in 2020. It’s just a stupid hoax. Feel free to pass this along."