What is the average lifetime of a fish?

This can vary greatly on the species and it’s living conditions. So it’s difficult to give a generalized average. Some fish may live 3 to 5 years, which includes most tropical aquarium fish; while others could live 10 to 20 years, wish a few species known to live from 40 to 60 years.