What is a dib bmp?

A Device-Independent bitmap (DIB) is a raster image file that is similar in structure to the standard Bitmap files(BMP/image/bmp/)). It contains a color table that describes the mapping of RGB colors to the pixel values. This enables DIB to represent image on any device.