What are hacienda homes?

Hacienda is a large Spanish estate on privately-owned land. Haciendas originated during the Spanish colonization of America. Original haciendas were used as plantations to farm/produce goods. Today, the term hacienda is often used to describe the type of architecture generally used in such estates.