Is there a vegetable called char?

You are probably thinking of chard, spelled C H A R D. It has many other names: silver beet, perpetual spinach, beet spinach, seakale beet, or leaf beet. Chard is a leafy vegetable with green or reddish leaves. It is used in salads, soups, and omelets.