How far do you stand back from a dartboard?

Regulation dartboard height has the bull's eye at 5' 8" from the floor for both soft tip and steel tip darts. Regulation distance from the dartboard face is 7' 9-1/4" for steel tip darts and 8' for soft tip darts.