How long does it take to raise a pig?

Most pig farmers buy “weaners,” piglets about two or three months old that are no longer reliant on their mother's milk; they then raise the pigs to slaughter weight (typically about 250 pounds), which on factory-style farms is attained by the time they're 6 months old.