What's the difference between brown sugar and light brown sugar?

Molasses! For light brown sugar, that usually means 3.5 percent molasses. For dark brown sugar, that amount is nearly doubled—6.5 percent molasses! This helps dark brown sugar have a more deep, complex flavor that's closer to toffee or caramel. Did you know that sugar can last forever?