Are crickets related to grasshoppers?

Yes grasshoppers and crickets are related and together with the katydids and locusts, make up the Order Orthoptera (meaning 'straight wings'). One of the most recognizable features of this group is their ability to produce sounds by rubbing together parts of their body. This is known as stridulation