Is m. i. a word?

Yes. "M, I," is a word. In the English language, it is pronounced [me] and represents the third tone in an octave scale. You've probably sang, or heard, "Doe Ray Me Fa So La Tee Doe". In Spanish, 'M, I,' is also pronounced [me] and means, [my]. Example, [Ess me papa]. That means [it's my dad].