What state is washington d. c. inside of?

Washington, DC is not in any state. The U.S. Constitution stated that the seat of government be a “District (not exceeding 10 miles square)” over which Congress would “exercise exclusive legislation.” This was to prevent any state from holding too much power by being home to the national government

---

Washington, D.C. is neither a state nor is it within a state. The U.S. Constitution provides for a federal district under the exclusive jurisdiction of Congress. This is the District of Columbia, or D,C.