What is it called when you hear voices?

Assuming you don't hear unseen people talking near you, there are two terms. Audio hallucinations are voices you hear that no one else hears, whether you understand what is being said or not. If you hear voices and they tell you to do things, good or bad, it can be diagnosed as schizophrenia.