What is the nine tailed beast?

Kurama or "Nine Tails" is one of nine tailed beasts, each sealed within a Jinchuriki and each having a different number of tails and unique chakras. Naruto possesses Kurama and learns to use its chakra. From the Naruto series of animes and mangas.