Why is superman called the man of steel?

Superman is called the man of steel because he is kind of invincible. Meaning, he is bullet proof, can take anti tank rounds to the face and not flinch, and he has the ability to shrug off things that should have killed him long ago. The only thing that can reliably hurt him is kryptonite.