How do you get rid of a cicada?

Applying foil barrier tape to the trunks of vulnerable trees may prevent cicadas from working their way up a tree. Covering tender shrubs and fruit-bearing plants with fine netting or cheesecloth will deter cicadas from landing on them. You can also spray them off trees with a water hose.