What is an ifttt trigger?

I.f.t.t.t. stands for, if this then that, which is a way of programming devices to respond to events in the real world. The This portion of i.f.t.t.t, is the trigger. The That portion is the action or response. The trigger defines the condition that will cause the action or response to occur.