What is the difference between a m.d. and a d.o?

An M.D. is a doctor of medicine and a D.O. is a doctor of osteopathy. A D.O. may become a licensed physician. Once a D.O. is licensed, both an M.D. and a D.O. have full medical and surgical practicing rights in the U.S.