What is supenders mean?

Suspenders in American English are X or Y shaped straps of fabric or leather worn over the shoulders, & attached to trousers & skirts to hold them up. In British English they're called braces. Suspenders in British English, is what a garter belt is in American English, & is used to hold up stockings