What is the soviets?

"Soviets" is often used as a shorthand for those in the former Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR,) which was also known as Russia at the time. Soviets were also the governmental units formed during and after the Russian revolution of 1917, and the organization the USSR got its name from.