When was french fries made?

One enduring origin story holds that french fries were invented by street vendors on the Pont Neuf bridge in Paris in 1789, just before the outbreak of the French Revolution. However, a reference exists in France from 1775 to "a few pieces of fried potato" and to "fried potatoes".

---

French Fries were first mentioned in a Parisian Book in 1775 and the first recipe was in a French cookbook in 1795, so it appears that french fries are indeed French.