What is sixties rock music?

Some legendary rock bands were formed in the 60's. The Beatles, the allman brothers, the kinks, the beach boys, the doors, Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention, the rolling stones, cream, the Jimi Hendrix experience, big brother and the holding company, the who, led zeppelin and so many more.