Do bears live in germany?

The brown bear was considered extinct in Germany after the last bear was shot in 1835 in the Bavarian Alps near Ruhpolding. In May 2006, 171 years later, a young male bear was found wandering 250 kilometers from northern Italy to Bavaria. After failed attempts to catch him, he was shot by hunters.