Why do dogs jump?

When a dog feels stressed or a lack of confidence around an unfamiliar person they may jump on them. This is a means of trying to regain control and asserting their dominance over a new member of the pack. If your pup has way too much pent-up energy and gets over excited, they may become a jumper.