What are baby roots?

“Rooting” in babies refers to a reflex that happens when the corner of their mouths is touched or stroked, often during or just before breastfeeding. When this occurs, a baby will turn their head, open their mouth, and “root” around for a breast or a bottle in order to eat a little something