How much water does it take to produce one pound of beef?

Shock is reasonable after discovering that the global average water footprint – the total amount of water needed – to produce 1 pound of beef is 1,799 gallons of water; one pound of pork takes 576 gallons of water. As a comparison, the water footprint of soybeans is 216 gallons; corn is 108 gallons.