How strong was the german army in ww2?

In terms of numbers, the German Wehrmacht fielded over 10 million troops at it's peak. In the general sense, the Wehrmacht was considered the best army on a unit by unit basis during the war. German troops were the best trained, well equipped, maintained excellent fighting spirit, and were well led.