What does wherefore art thou mean?

In the play by William Shakespear: Juliet asks "O Romeo, Romeo! Wherefore art thou Romeo?" She is not asking where he is, she is asking why he IS Romeo? Since what kept the lovers apart was their feuding families, they could be together without impediments if he had a different name.