Why are ferrets illegal?

Reasons for banning ferrets include concerns about biting, as well as rabies, and escapees colonizing and threatening native wildlife.

---

Ferrets aren't illegal everywhere. But in states like New York and California they are. The reasoning is usually over concerns about biting, as well as rabies, and escapees colonizing and threatening native wildlife.