Where did the phrase the life of riley come from?

The closest origin of the phrase 'living the life of Riley' that anyone can figure is that it was brought to America by Irish immigrants, although there's no record of it being used in Ireland prior to 1918. So it seems most likely that the phrase originated in Irish American communities in the USA.