Why do shoes squeak?

The squeak can be caused by air or moisture getting trapped between different parts of the shoe, such as the sole and insole, or by parts of the shoe rubbing against each other directly. You can also get a squeak when the rubber sole of a shoe rubs against a slick surface, like the floor of a gym.