What does l. a. b. o. u. l. a. y. e. spell?

L-A-B-O-U-L-A-Y-E spells "Laboulaye," the last name of Édouard de Laboulaye, the French political thinker who first proposed the monument to the United States that eventually became what we now know as the Statue of Liberty.