What famous baseball player was number forty two?

Jackie Robinson. He was the first player to break the color barrier in Major League Baseball. Every year, on the anniversary of his debut, the baseball world pauses to honor his unmatched contributions to the game. In 1997, MLB Commissioner Bud Selig permanently retired his number 42 for all teams.