What's a train yard?

A train yard is actually called a rail yard. It is a series of tracks for storing, sorting, or loading and unloading rail cars and locomotives. Rail yards have many tracks in parallel for keeping rolling stock or unused locomotives stored off the mainline, so that they do not obstruct traffic.