Who is mr. p. from peppa pig?

He is also called Detective Potato and his appearance is similar to Sherlock Holmes, one of the most famous British detectives. Daddy Pig owns a keychain on his keys shaped like Mr. Potato implying Mr Potato is also famous in merchandise. He drives a clown car.