What is the purpose of a dog's dewclaw?

They can aid in keeping objects such as bones, toys and sticks steady while the dog chews on them. Dogs also might use their dew claws to scratch an itch, remove something stuck from their teeth or perform several other useful tasks including climbing and some canine sport activities.