Who was the first american to go into space?

On May 5, 1961 from Cape Canaveral, Florida, Navy Commander Alan Bartlett Shepard Jr. is launched into space aboard the Freedom 7 space capsule becoming the first American astronaut to travel into space. The flight lasted 15 minutes and reached a height of 116 miles into the atmosphere.