How do you compost food?

Start your compost pile on bare earth. ... Lay twigs or straw first, a few inches deep. ... Add compost materials in layers, alternating moist and dry. ... Add manure, green manure (clover, buckwheat, wheatgrass, grass clippings) or any nitrogen source. ... Keep compost moist.