Why did they call it the golden gate bridge?

It spans the Golden Gate, the strait connecting San Francisco Bay with the Pacific Ocean. on July 1, 1846, US Army Capt John C. Fremont saw the strait, saying “it is a golden gate to trade with the Orient.” On June 5, 1848, he wrote, “to this Gate I gave the name of “Chrysopylae” or “Golden Gate”