What is pluto?

Pluto is the ninth planet-like body in Earth's solar system and is the planet-like body farthest from the Sun. In 2019, controversy erupted amongst astronomers as to the precise status of Pluto and it is now classified as a "dwarf planet" under modern classification taxonomies.