When did the challenger go up?

When did the challenger go up? January 28 The space shuttle Challenger explodes after liftoff At 11:38 a.m. EST, on January 28, 1986, the space shuttle Challenger lifts off from Cape Canaveral, FL, and Christa McAuliffe is on her way to becoming the first ordinary U.S. civilian to travel into space.