What is hello?

Hello, is a salutation or greeting in the English language. It is a word used to greet someone, to answer the telephone, to express surprise or to acknowledge someone’s arrival or presence.

---

"Hello!" is a warm and friendly greeting. Among the many people of the world, saying "Hello" is the most basic way to acknowledge someone. How do YOU say it? Bonjour, ¡Hola!, Ciao, Konnichiwa, Oi, Shalom, Hei, Namaste — Hello!