Is there a such thing as red bananas?

Yes. Red bananas do exist and they are a subgroup of bananas from Southeast Asia with red skin. They’re soft and have a sweet flavor when ripe. Some people say they taste like a regular banana — but with a hint of raspberry sweetness.