Why do cats pull their hair out?

Parasites, such as fleas, mites or lice are a common cause of itchiness, excessive grooming and pulling out hair in cats. Bacterial or fungal infections in the skin, allergies to dust mites, pollen, mold, and food allergies, are also causes of feline overgrooming and pulling out hair.