Why is it called generation x.?

The "X" refers to an unknown variable or to a desire not to be defined. In the U.S., some called Generation Xers the "baby bust" generation because of the drop in the birth rate following the baby boom.

---

The "X" refers to an unknown variable or to a desire not to be defined, which is one of the traces of Generation X, which has been described as an alienated youth.